Special Feature: The Cardiff Three

11Mar09

police-badge2

SPECIAL FEATURE:

Cardiff Three left stuck in the past as police face conspiracy charges
originally published: 9th March 2009

Life has stood still for Stephen Miller since he was arrested more than 20 years ago and charged with the murder of a young woman in Cardiff. “Not one day goes past without me thinking about the case,” he said. “My life is stuck in 1988.”

Last week, it was announced that 13 former and serving South Wales police officers were to face charges of conspiracy to pervert the course of justice in connection with the investigation into the murder of Lynette White in 1988. Five innocent men were charged with the murder and three – Miller and two others, together known as the Cardiff Three – were jailed for life. They were freed on appeal in 1992 and the real murderer, Jeffrey Gafoor, pleaded guilty in 2003.

Now 42, Miller is living in south London where he grew up, but his life has changed. “I was very sociable before,” he said, speaking at the office of his lawyer, Matthew Gold. “Now I find it too stressful to go out. I don’t go to bars, or anything. I stay in my room and watch TV. My missus, Olivia, has been like a rock but we hardly ever go out – perhaps four or five times in the last eight years. I don’t like to go out in case I get into any confrontation and get angry and emotional.”

Read full article >

No Responses Yet to “Special Feature: The Cardiff Three”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

